Filters and Topaz Software Workshop: Feb. 9, 2021

  • 7 to 9 p.m., Tuesday, Feb. 9, 2021
  • Learn via Zoom; login credentials emailed prior to meeting.
  • Using Circular Filters with Digital Cameras, presented by John Nixon.
  • Using Topaz Software Options, presented by Charles Morris
  • Above, Hummingbird Theatrics, an award winner by Charles.

Join two award winning club members as they explain and discuss favorite techniques to make and enhance digital images.

John, above right, is the club’s immediate past president, who will explain the use of ultraviolet (UV), polarizing and neutral density filters. He will discuss the pros and cons of each,  as well as when to use them.

Charles, whose bird and nature photos regularly earn awards, will discuss his the use of Topaz DeNoise, Sharpen and Gigapixel software programs to denoise and sharpen images.

Both presenters are avid and talented hobbyist photographers. John is retired from BSNF and Charles from internet security positions. Both received top awards throughout 2020 and in 2020 year-end club competition.

Year-End Awards: 2020

Congratulations to club members who submitted entries in monthly competition and earned points for their skills. Award winners were announced at the Dec. 3 year-end meeting.

2020 Digital Photographs of the Year

Class B

  • 1st  Windy Black and White by Mark Rogers
  • 2nd The Chosen One by Vicki Lai
  • 3rd  Thirsty by Stephen Mayeux
  • HM  Autumn’s Dewdrop by Joyce Lamb

Class A

  • 1st  Hummingbird Theatrics by Charles Morris
  • 2nd  Alone in the Desert by Roy O’Rear
  • 3rd  Dark Days by Susan Linderman
  • HM  Haystack by K.P.Wilska


  • 1st The Man on the Train by Jeff Heyer
  • 2nd  Dragon Berry by Roy Richardson
  • 3rd  Hot and Dusty 06 Ranch – Alpine by Aimee Martin
  • HM  Edinburgh by John Nixon

2020 Digital Photographers of the Year

Class B

  • 1st  Stephen Mayeux
  • 2nd  Mark Rogers
  • 3rd  Steve Brawner
  • HM Vicki Lai

Class A

  • 1st  K.P. Wilska
  • 2nd  Susan Linderman
  • 3rd  Angela Weir
  • HM  Roy O’Rear

Master’s Class

  • 1st Roy Richardson
  • 2nd David Morgan
  • 3rd  John Nixon
  • HM  Jeff Heyer