Annual Awards Banquet: Dec. 1, 2022

  • 2022 Year-End Awards Presentation
  • Thursday, Dec.1, 2022; cash bar opens 6:30 p.m., presentation at 7 p.m.
  • $20 per person
  • Mira Vista Country Club Sunset Grill, 6600 Mira Vista Blvd., Fort Worth 76132; view a map

Join us for the year-end awards banquet to celebrate the creativity and skill of our members. The bar will be open at 6:30 p.m. and we will enjoy a Mexican food buffet dinner along with projected images of winners. This is our first in-person year-end celebration since 2019, when Covid-19 sent us to Zoom. Images from 2019, below.

We will present awards to the 1st, 2nd, 3rd and HM winners of both the print and digital categories in Class B, Class A and Masters for the year and announce winners of the 1st, 2nd, 3rd and HM winners of Photos of the Year in all three classes. The 12 winning prints, four from each class, will be on display.

Club treasurer Milt Siems will collect payment and record registration at October and November meetings on Oct. 6, Oct. 20, Nov. 3 and Nov. 17. Or, payment may be made by Zelle or check.

  • Pay via Zelle to the Fort Worth Camera Club, noting your name and member number in the Zelle notes.
  • Mail your check payable to Fort Worth Camera Club to Treasurer Milt Siems, 3700 Northcrest Drive, Cleburne, TX 76031
  • Give your check or cash to Treasurer Milt Sims, at one of our meetings in October or November. An ATM is located at our meeting room on the UNT Health Science Center campus.

The Competition committee recruited three judges who will review images submitted in 2022 and select this year’s awards.


Award Winning Images 2022

These images are winners in 2022 monthly club member competitions.

Images are identified by title, award (1st, 2nd, 3rd, honorable mention, Best in Show), category (B = Beginner, A = Advanced, M= Master, BP = Beginner Print, AP = Advanced Print, MP = Master Print), photographer’s name, date. If image is slow to load, be patient or refresh the page. The most recent winners are at the end of the slide show – a quirk of how the software organizes the slide show.

Enjoy, but remember: these images are copyrighted by the photographer. Contact us on Facebook or by email if you want more information. Or, do an online search for “stock photos.”


Competition Entries: September 2022

These are images entered in the club’s monthly competition. Entries are submitted on the first Thursday of each month with awards and judge’s comments presented on the third Thursday meeting. Good luck to all!

Share a Favorite Photo Location

Do you have a favorite photo location to share with others?

Download these templates, complete one or more and share them with a new Fort Worth Camera Club-Dallas Camera Club project that provides locations for us to practice and enjoy photography. The templates provide location, directions and a photo to help you plan a visit and make the locations easy to find. Above, Historic Stockyards by Ken Spencer.

Locations will be accessible from this website page ( to a Photographic Opportunity page managed by Sam Lucas of the Dallas club. The master list of photo locations is arranged in alphabetical order by country, state and city; if the photo location is not in a city, it will be listed under the nearest city. Locations can be a favorite field of bluebonnets, a nature walk or an interesting downtown building – places that encourage a keen eye and creativity. Photo above by Ken Spencer.

We need all our members to get to work filling out templates for photo locations to add to the master list, says Fort Worth club president Ken Sparks. You are not required to make a new trip to submit a template. Just complete templates based on your past trips and submit them to Ron Shue so we will have a long list of places to pursue our hobby.

Questions? Follow the instructions on the template and/or contact project coordinator Ron Shue, 817-304-3220, or Ken Sparks at 979-484-9249.

User Guide for Competition Entry Sizes

The Competition Committee has noticed  some apparent confusion about the correct size for monthly entries. Out of 40 images in the June 2021 competition, six were not at the maximum allowed resolution.

Images may be up to 1920 pixels wide and up to 1280 pixels high. Smaller images won’t be disqualified, but they are at a disadvantage when they’re judged. 

Keep in mind that a landscape image could be exactly 1920 x 1280, but most images will have either a smaller width or height. For example, a panorama may be 1920 x 640. A standard portrait may be 850 x 1280. A square crop would be 1280 x 1280. Sizing can get a little complicated. Just make sure that the width is 1920 pixels or less AND the height is 1280 or less.

After you export your image, double-check the size before you submit it to make sure it’s neither too small nor too large. Remember that if you submit an image that is larger than these dimensions, it could be disqualified.

  • Always export your JPEGs at maximum quality. 
  • In Lightroom, that means setting Quality to 100 when you export your image. 
  • In Photoshop, if you use Save As, set Quality to 12; if you use the newer export dialog box, set Quality to 100 percent.

Learn more about monthly competition, which is open to members.

Not a member? Download a member form and join us. Dues are reduced by half as of July 1.