Fort Worth vs. Dallas Annual Competition: 2018


The Fort Worth Camera Club retained The Bird award for 2019 by earning a total of 345 points from independent judges at the annual Dallas versus Fort Worth club competition. The Dallas club received a total of 338 points. Learn more about the 2018 contest, below, and about the winners.

The annual contest between the Fort Worth and Dallas camera clubs will be the Oct. 4, 2018 meeting program. Here’s your chance to see judges in action and gain insight into their thought process as images are viewed and scored.

  • A total of 15 digital and 15 print images from each club will be judged. Judges view the images in random order; images are identified only with a title.
  • Judges are not current or recent members of either club nor do they have information about entrants.
  • The club with the highest combined point total will be the winner.

Fort Worth Camera Club was the competition winner in 2017 (and every year since 2007). The contest is alternately hosted by each club, and has been held since 1964, except 1975 and 2016. The Competition Committee selects Fort Worth entries from year-to-date award winners. (Competition is open only to club members.)


The Bird competition began when Emily Guthrie Smith suggested that an annual contest would be fun for both clubs. Smith was a Fort Worth native and nationally known artist and teacher. Her works are in private collections, museums and the Archives of American Artists in the Smithsonian Institution.

Smith donated the trophy, a wood EmilyGuthrieSmithSignaturesculpture engraved with the winning club’s name. She carved the trophy, but the reason she chose a bird is not known. The trophy is perched on the podium at our club meetings.

The program, free and open to the public, will be from 7 to 9 p.m., at our regular meeting location (link to video guide): UNTHSC, 3500 Camp Bowie Blvd., Research and Education Building, Room 100. Enter at Clifton Street and Camp Bowie, park for free and enter on the building’s lower level.

Bird image courtesy of Dallas Camera Club; history courtesy of Becky Scott and Robert Chura.