Competition Judges 2021

Monthly competition judges are selected by the Competition Committee. Judges are not current club members, nor do judges have access to names or other information about entrants. Learn about previous 2021, 2020 and 2019 judges.

Competition Committee members for 2021 are co-chairs Shawn Gibson and Ken Spencer, plus Jeff Heyer, Brian Fesko and Hal Wallar.

May 2021: Gary Payne

Judge Gary Payne May 2021Competition entries are due at midnight Thursday, May 6; judge’s comments will be presented Thursday, May 20, 2021.

Gary is manager of photography at the University of North Texas in Denton. You’ll find his pictures and visual story-telling in every medium used in promotions and programs that support the university’s activities and strategies: advertising, marketing, social media, news media, alumni and research magazines and in-house publications. View brand strategies.

Gary’s skills include still and video studio and location portraiture, marketing and advertising photography, news photography, sports photography and editing.  He is a graduate of UNT.

June 2021: Nancy Farrar

Images must be entered by midnight, Thursday, June 3. Awards and comments will be presented  Thursday, June 17, 2021. 

Judge Nancy Farrar400wNancy is a Fort Worth-based food and feature photographer who was voted one of the 12 Best Dallas Food Photographers in 2019. Her work has appeared on Food Network’s Beat Bobby Flay, and in numerous publications including Fort Worth Star-Telegram, The Dallas Morning News, Eater, Zagat, Southern Living, USA Today, Where Women Cook, Texas Journey magazine, CultureMap, websites and social media.

Nancy says she seeks “the perfect angles in real estate and architecture photography, the real you in portraits and food you can almost taste in food photos.”

She is a graduate of Syracuse University’s Newhouse School of Public Communications.

July 2021: Robert Hurst

Competition entries are due by midnight Thursday, July 1; judge’s comments will be presented July 15.

Robert Hurst 400w JudgeBob grew up in a small Arkansas town where his dad’s drug store was the only place to buy cameras or to bring film to send out for processing. He fondly remembers people coming to the store and gathering around to watch the magic of the first Polaroids.

Bob is a former teacher, musician, technical writer, UI designer, videographer and photographer. As part of a communications team at Southwest Airlines for almost 25 years, Bob’s photography and videography was focused on special life events, celebrations, and recognition. Much of his personal photography centers on wildlife and nature, but he also enjoys landscape photography, street photography and capturing those special unscripted moments in peoples’ lives.

 Bob’s photography philosophy is never stop learning, point your camera at interesting things, hold it real still, and press the button. Repeat as often as possible.

August-November 2021: TBD

December 2021: Year-End Awards

There is no contest in December; rather, we celebrate photography with a party! We hope we will be able to safely party in person by December 2021. The annual year-end event features awards to members who have accrued points from monthly competitions.