Competition Judges 2022

Monthly competition judges are selected by the Competition Committee. Judges are not current club members, nor do judges have access to metadata, names or other information about entrants.

Competition Committee members for 2022 are Shawn Gibson, Ken Spencer, Roy O’Rear, Brian Fesko and Hal Wallar.

October 2022: Mike Brooks

Mike Brooks

Entries are due Oct. 6; awards will be presented Oct. 20.

Mike is a Dallas area photographer. Says Mike:

“I make money from photography but I don’t depend on it for a living, allowing me the freedom to shoot the things I like. Freelance a lot for the Dallas Observer, with the odd music and entertainment assignments in between.  Love long walks on the beach, full frame cameras with wide angle lenses and the tribal energy of a good rock and roll show.”  

He was a film student at the University of California, Berkeley and San Francisco State.

November 2022: Jeff Grimm

Jeff Grimm

Entries are due Nov. 3; awards will be presented Nov. 17.

Jeff taught photography at Trinity High School in Euless, his alma mater, for 35 years. 

His students won the state photography championship five times, despite a zero dollar budget, and almost 7,000 individual and school awards, including several top-10 Best of College beating most of the nation’s best college and university photo programs.

Jeff received Star of Texas awards for outstanding contributions to photo education from the Association of Texas Photography Instructors. Learn more about ATPI.

December 2022: Year-End Awards

There is no contest in December; rather, we celebrate photography by announcing the awards to members who have accrued points from monthly competitions. The 2022 year-end awards will be announced at a Dec. 1 reception at Mira Vista Country Club. Buy tickets ($20 per person) at October and November meetings.

January 2023: Malinda Julien

Entries are due Jan. 5; awards will be presented Jan. 19.

Malinda Julien

Malinda Julien is a Fort Worth photographer who specializes in architectural, food and product photography.

Recent publications include “Essential: The Heroes of the COVID19 Pandemic.”  Images have appeared in Fort Worth Magazine, Fort Worth, Inc., Dream Homes Magazine, The Photographer Magazine and Professional Photographer Magazine PPA.

Malinda holds certifications from the Professional Photographer’s Association:  certified Professional Photographer (CPP), PPA Master of Photography, (M. Photog) and Photographic Craftsman (Cr. Photog).

She is co-owner of Julien & Lambert Digital with her son, Charles Lambert.

February 2023: Steve Kozak

Entries are due Feb. 2; awards and judge’s comments presented Feb. 16.

Steve Kozak

Steve Kozak is an active member of the Professional Photographers of America and the Texas Professional Photographers Association. Steve has earned the Master of Photography and Craftsman degrees from PPA.  

 Steve has recorded over a dozen videos for the PPA EDU program. These videos include classes on the fundamentals of photography, manual flash photography, exposure, opening a new studio as well as videos for CPP study preparation.

 He has taught at the Texas School of Professional Photography, Imaging USA, Mid-America Institute of Professional Photography and Image Explorations.

Steve’s articles have been published in The Professional Photographer and Texas Professional Photographer magazines.