Year-End Awards: Dec. 3, 2020

  • 7 p.m., Thursday, Dec. 3, 2020
  • Meeting via Zoom: Meeting ID: 817 431 1431 Passcode: 419623

    2019 Awards Shawn Gibson Sharon Sturg506618-90Celebrate a year of exceptional photography at the Fort Worth Camera Club’s annual Awards Banquet! Oh, wait. We’re not partying in person this year, as we stay safe during the corona virus pandemic.

    So uncork a celebratory beverage at home, dial in and enjoy the photos made by members who entered monthly competition and accrued points throughout the year.

    Above, 2019 Master’s award winners John Nixon, and right, Sharon Sturgis, with Shawn Gibson.

    We’ll also say thanks to the 2020 Board of Directors and Officers and welcome new leaders for 2021.

     Join us in 2021

    Follow us on this website and Facebook for meeting information, login credentials and related club information. Download the PDF 2021 FWCC Membership Enrollment and join us.

    Our first meeting of 2021 will be at 7 p.m., Thursday, Jan. 7 with a presentation by David Morgan about Adventure Photography. David is a past club president, frequent award winner and Master photographer.

    Portrait Lighting Recording: Nov. 5, 2020

    Below is the link to the recording of our November 5th Meeting.  Jen Bertrand made an excellent presentation regarding the use of flash.  This recording will be available for 2-3 weeks.  A password is not required.  Feel free to share this link with your friends and follow photographers.

    • 7 p.m., Thursday, Nov. 5, 2020
    • High-end Portrait Lighting on a Low-End Budget, via Zoom;
    • Meeting ID: 891 4922 5245 Passcode: 389357
    • Jen Bertrand, Jen Bertrand Photography, Dallas

    Judge Jen Bertrand Nov 2019You don’t need Condé Nast coffers to create light that makes an impact, says Jen. Join her as she walks us through the foundational skills of portrait lighting that will help to create high-end lighting on a low-end budget. 

    Jen will discuss:

    • Lighting equipment and modifiers.
    • How to create different qualities of light.
    • Lighting patterns and styles.
    • How to create and manipulate your light to flatter your subject.

    Jen specializes in editorial, magazine-style portrait imagery that speaks to the individual.  She is known for her modern and edgy approach to photography, as well as adding her personal touch to the entire client experience.  

    Competition Reminder

    Submit your digital image for judging in the November competition. This is the final competition month this year. Our annual awards presentation will be Dec. 3 , via Zoom, as we continue to stay safe. Plan to dial in and be inspired for next year’s monthly contests.

    Competition Entries: October 2020

    We also publish the monthly winners in our Award Winning Images post. Some print images are included. Find judge’s comments (member log in required.)

    In-person meetings are suspended until further notice, but digital competition continues. Stay healthy and safe, follow COVID-19 protection precautions.

    Annual Meeting: Oct. 15, 2020

    The minutes included below were approved and the slate of offers elected for 2021 at the Oct. 15 annual meeting.

    • 7 p.m., Thursday, Oct. 15, 2020
    • Annual Meeting via Zoom; login credentials: Meeting ID: 881 8544 9295; Passcode: 203058
    • Election of Officers and Directors, Approval of E-Meeting Minutes
    • October Competition Results

    Club members will be asked to approve a slate of officers for 2021 at the club’s annual meeting Oct. 15. Members who have paid calendar year 2020 dues are eligible to vote.

    Members also will be asked to approve minutes of the board’s online meeting which authorized a member vote on revised and updated club bylaws. Bylaws revisions were approved by members Aug. 24, 2020.

    The nominating committee (Susan Horton, Jerry Turner, Curtis Wheat) has recommended a slate of officers for 2021. Nominations may be made from the floor at the annual meeting. The slate is:

    • President: Ken Sparks
    • Vice-President: Ken Spencer
    • Secretary: Julie Delio
    • Treasurer: Milt Siems
    • Directors: Carolyn Bobo, Vicki Lai, Ron Shue, K.P. Wilska
    • Returning Directors: David Bee, Susan Taylor

    Learn More